Student Equity and Achievement Committee

Welcome to the Student Equity and Achievement Committee (SEA)

Committee Charge: The Student Equity and Achievement Committee  is an Educational Progams, operational committee that will recommend and coordinate strategies that enhance student equity and student academic achievement. 

Reports to:  Executive Vice-President of Educational Programs

2nd and 4th Thursday of each month, 3:00 to 4:30pm
For 2022-23, meetings will be held from September 8, 2022 through May 11, 2023

SEA Application and Resources

Minutes 2021-2022
September 2, 2021
September 16, 2021
October 7, 2021
October 21, 2021
November 4, 2021
November 18, 2021
Joint SEA/SEC January 19, 2022
Joint SEA/SEC February 10, 2022
Joint SEA/SEC February 24, 2022
Joint SEA/SEC March 10, 2022
Joint SEA/SEC April 14, 2022
Joint SEA/SEC April 28, 2022

Archived Meeting Resources

Purpose: The purpose of this committee is to align institutional goals and priorities for enhancing student equity and achievement on campus; improve implementation of goals and objectives related to student equity and achievement; increase communication and coordination to leverage resources to have a greater impact on student equity and achievement; minimize duplication of efforts; coordinate the data management for outcomes assessment and evaluation of the college's efforts to achieve student equity and achievement; and provide seamless delivery of services that support student equity and achievement.  Ed Code 78222(a)1

Committee Membership
Committee membership structure pending changes for 2022-23

  1. Co-Chair, VP of Student Affairs - Paloma Arnold 
  2. Co-Chair, Academic Senate President or designee- Laurie Vasquez (DSPS & FRC)
  3. VP Appointments (2 Instructional Deans, 1 Student Services Dean)
     - Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Science -  Elizabeth Imhof
    -  Dean of Math, Sciences, Library, PE/Athletics - Jens-Uwe Kuhn
  4. Academic Senate Appointments 
  5. Counseling Chair - Jennifer Hamilton
  6. Director of Learning Support Services -Vandana Gavaskar
  7. Executive Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion - (vacant) and
    Coordinator, Equity, Diversity, and Cultural Competency - Roxane Byrne (one vote)
  8. Director, Enrollment and Retention, Vanessa Pelton
  9. CSEA designee from Student Support Services
     -Kristy Renteria, Student Success Coordinator
     -Sara Volle, Assessment/Placement Coordinator

     -Elizabeth Giles, Lead Transcript Analyst

     - TBD
  10. Interim VP, School of Extended Learning (or designee), Carola Smith
  11. Associated Student Government appointment - Aurore Bernard and Aika Person (one vote)

Committee Resources (non-voting):
Academic Senate Liaison, Jennifer Baxton 
Institutional Assessment, Research and Planning representative, Z Reisz
Human Resources representative, TBD
Fiscal Services representatives: Interim Assistant Controller, Nicole Hubert, and Cheryl Brown

(Members joining from previous Student Equity Committee):
1. Co-Chair, Faculty - Brittanye Muschamp
2. Co-Chair, Coordinator of Equity, Diversity, and Cultural Competency - Roxane Byrne
3. Faculty Representatives:
     - Andrew Gil, Academic Counseling
     - Jennifer Maupin, Biological Sciences
     - Marc Bobro, Philosophy
4. CSEA Representatives:
     - Akil Hill, Senior Admissions & Records Technician
     - Chelsea Lancaster, Student Program Advisor EOPS/CARE/CalWORKS
     - Julio Martinez, Media Technician, Learning Resource Center
5. ALA Representatives:
     - (Vacant)
     - Maureen McRae Goldberg, Director of Financial Aid
6. Advisory Representatives
     - Elizabeth Imhof, Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
     - Margaret Prothero, Guided Pathways Faculty Coordinator
     - Christina Llerena, Director of EOPS
     - Kyle Rasmussen, Veterans Program Coordinator
     - Martha Swanson, Executive Director of Public Affairs & Communications
     - Z Reisz, Senior Director of Institutional Assessment, Research, and Planning
     - Kathy Scott, EVP Educational Programs
     - Jenny Baxton, Academic Senate Liaison

SEA - SEC Consolidation Document (pending CPC approval)