Earth and Planetary Sciences Awards

student receiving award

Awards Presented on May 1, 2020, via Zoom

Academic Awards

  • Marschak Astronomy (SBCC Foundation Scholarship) - Kenny Galindo

  • Nate Simpson

  • Arzate, Jessica
    Bonsell, Katherine
    Hajic, Zachary
    Johnson, Olivia
    Masanzi, Kennedy
    Ujifusa, Tyler
    Donahue, Benjamin
    Duggan, Adam
    Mitchell, Carter

  • Dr. Robert S. Gray Award - Outstanding Geological Sciences Major  - Lydia Kaestner

    Jan Dependahl Spirit of Geology Award - Excellence and Dedication to the Field - Alex Sasich

    Thomas Bennett Award - Outstanding First Year Geology Student - Paris  White and Cody Atwood

    Marty McCreary Selfridge Geology Scholarship - For Academic Achievement and Department Involvement - Katherine Bonsell

    Doug McGibbon Field Award - For Dedication to the Field of Geology - Ardyn Wallo

    Muriel Norton Award - for an Outstanding Geology Major involved in CGS events  - Joe Dattillo

    Ronald A. Chromy Memorial Scholarships (SBCC Foundation) - Taji Tanner and  Katheriine Bonsell

    Carl Sagan Memorial Science Scholarship (SBCC Foundation) - Austin Abreu

    Jeff Marshall Award - Chiara Corbo and David Nims

    Happy Face of Geology - Riley Vance-Geydesen

    Successful Completion of Mineralogy-Petrology - Kyle Davis

Off-Campus Recognition

  • Sandra Jensen

  • Jorge Barron
    Joe Datillo
    Taylor Trevino
    Alex Sasich
    Chiara Corbo
    Taji Tanner
    Ardyn Wallo
  • Jorge Barron
    Alex Sasich

Congratulations to our award recipients and all our students for what you bring to the department. Your energy, enthusiasm, and committment, make our department the wonderful place that it is!